Voodoo History

CQWWCW – Two Decades in Africa

The VooDoo Contest Group has entered CQWWCW from West Africa every year since 1994, nineteen consecutive years, nearly two whole sunspot cycles – always in the Multi-Operator category. A group from Arizona first got the wander-lust, setting CQWWCW records from KP2 in the late 1980s. This group expanded and operated subsequently from 4U0ITU, CN5N, C56N, ZC4Z, ZF2WW but then in 1994 came Ghana, signing 9G5AA. This started a whole series of events, building the pile of equipment each year and travelling to different countries. During those 19 years we have been fortunate enough to operate from ten different West African countries and have won the contest six times.

Checking the map will show that we have gone full-circle, anti-clockwise. Our philosophy has always been to operate in a country two consecutive years, then move on. But now we have nowhere left to go! So, this is kind of the End of an Era. Besides, our stock-pile of equipment is falling apart from old age. Is that the end of the group? Certainly not! We will continue to operate CQWWCW but nowadays light-weight equipment and vertical antennas means that we are free to travel with everything as airline luggage – so we are no longer tied to West Africa.


Year       Country               Call-Sign                Plaque

1994       Ghana                   9G5AA                   MM winner

1995       Benin                    TY5A                     MM winner

1996       Togo                      5V7A                    MM winner

1997       Togo                      5V7A                    MM winner

1998       Togo                      5V7A                    MM 2nd

1999       Ghana                   9G5AA                  MM 5th

2000       Ghana                   9G5AA                  MM 6th

2001       Burkina Faso         XT2DX                  MM 2nd Multi-Op DXped

2002       Burkina Faso         XT2DX                  MM 3rd

2003       Niger                     5U5Z                    MM 2nd  + Multi-Op DXped

2004       Niger                     5U5Z                    MM winner

2005       Mali                       TZ5A                    MM 2nd

2006       Mali                       TZ5A                    MM 3rd

2007       Guinea                 3X5A                     MM winner + Multi-Op DXped

2008       Guinea                 3X5A                     MM 2nd

2009       S Leone                9L5A                     M2 2nd

2010       S Leone                 9L5VT                  M2 3rd

2011       Liberia                   EL2A                    M2 6th + Multi-Op DXped

2012       Liberia                   EL2A                    MM 4th + Multi-Op DXped



‘MM’ = Multi-Operator, Multi-Transmitter

‘M2’ = Multi-Operator, Two Transmitters

The following article appeared in CQ Magazine, May 2013: Click on the top-right icon (arrow) for a full screen view.